The Marshall Award, named in honor of long-time Phi Theta Kappa supporter Dr. Jo Marshall, provides financial support to chapter advisors for the completion of projects that lead to personal leadership growth. The award provides a $5,000 stipend to advisors with at least five years of service for the completion of their proposed project.

Dr. Kelly Kennedy-Everett

Beta Pi Theta Chapter
Miami Dade College – Hialeah Campus
Hialeah, Florida

“Our National Parks: Creating Super Courses with Lessons in Leadership”

Dr. Kennedy-Everett will complete the Best Teacher’s Institute: Saturday Seminar Series and study National Parks and National Monuments in the United States. From her research, she will glean leadership lessons that can be learned from analyzing challenges facing the park system and from working to preserve national parks. Dr. Kennedy-Everett’s research will take her to national parks in each region of the United States. From her research, she will create a theme-based super course that will focus on enhancing students’ leadership skills through intensive investigation of lessons learned from national parks and national monuments.

Dr. Kelly Kennedy-Everett, 2021 Marshall Award Recipient