International Honorary Member

This recognition is considered PTK’s highest honor for a non-member. The award is not given every year, but only when the Society identifies an individual who has provided extraordinary support to Phi Theta Kappa. In PTK’s 104-year history, fewer than 45 International Honorary Members have been named.

Dr. Belle Wheelan

President of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACS-COC)

“The PTK Board of Directors feels strongly that Dr. Wheelan’s service as a community college administrator and president, along with her ongoing leadership in the higher education community to ensure that institutions have the resources, programs, and services to fulfill their missions, demonstrates her strong commitment to student success,” said Dr. Lynn Tincher-Ladner, President and CEO of PTK.

Prior to being named President of SACS-COC in 2005, Dr. Wheelan served as Virginia’s secretary of education. She previously served as president of both Northern Virginia Community College and Central Virginia Community College and held faculty and administrator roles at Tidewater Community College, Thomas Nelson Community College, and San Antonio College in Texas.
Dr. Belle Wheelan, International Honorary Member